Lehigh Valley Health Network LVHN Scholarly Works

Historical Archives

Annual Meeting of Board of Trustees, 1965

Lehigh Valley Health Network

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarlyworks.lvhn.org/historicalarchives Let us know how access to this document benefits you

Published In/Presented At

(1965). Annual Meeting of Board of Trustees, 1965. *LVHN Scholarly Works*. Retrieved from https://scholarlyworks.lvhn.org/historicalarchives/897

This Report is brought to you for free and open access by LVHN Scholarly Works. It has been accepted for inclusion in LVHN Scholarly Works by an authorized administrator. For more information, please contact LibraryServices@lvhn.org.

The Allentown Hospital For immediate release Mrs. Valeria S. Boyer June 16, 1965

The annual meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Allentown Hospital Association was held Wednesday, June 16, at 8:00 p.m., in the Trexler Auditorium.

Charles G. Helwig was reelected President. The following Trustees were reelected for a three-year term: Harvey L. Farr, H. Thomas Koch, John J. McCartney, and Mr. Helwig. Mr. McCartney was elected First Vice-President, to replace Fredrick Hanson, who remains on the Board, and S.H. Carl Bear was elected Treasurer, to replace Mr. McCartney who had been serving in that position.

William S. Hudders was elected a Trustee to serve for three years. Mr. Hudders is a graduate of Muhlenberg College and of the University of Pennsylvania Law School. He is a member of the law firm of Butz, Hudders and Tallman. Mr. Hudders is a Trustee of Muhlenberg College, legal counsel for the First National Bank of Allentown, and Treasurer and Director of the Educators' Mutual Life Insurance Company of Lancaster.

Charles E. Oakes, who has been a member of the Board since 1916, and was its President from 1961 to 1964, was elected an honorary Trustee.

The election of Dr. Robert M. Jaeger as President of the Hospital's Medical Staff was confirmed. He succeeds Dr. Frances C. Schaeffer who has completed her two-year term. Dr. Jaeger joined the Hospital's Medical Staff in 1955; he is Chief of the Neurosurgery Department. A graduate of the University of Rochester, he received his M.D. degree from the University of Buffalo. Dr. Jaeger served his internship, a residency in general surgery and residencies in Neurosurgery and Neurology at Buffalo General Hospital. Dr. Jaeger served for several years in the United States Navy during the Second World War, as well as during the Korean War. He is a member of the Lehigh County Medical Society, the American Medical Association and the American College of Surgeons. He is a Diplomate of the American Board of Neurological Surgery and a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons.

He is a member of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons, of the Harvey Cushing Society and of the Council of the Philadelphia Neurosurgical Society. He is President of the Lehigh Valley Neuropsychiatric Society and a member of the Philadelphia Neurological Society.

Dr. and Mrs. Jaeger and their three children live at 1133 South 24th Street.

The election of Dr. John Pfromm was confirmed as Chief of the Ear, Nose and Throat Department of the Division of Surgery. He succeeds Dr. John R. Mench, who was confirmed as Emeritus Chief of the Ear, Nose and Throat Department.

Dr. Pfromm is a graduate of the Hahnemann Medical School and took his internship at the Allentown Hospital. He served a residency in Ear, Nose and Throat at the Geisinger Memorial Hospital, Danville, Pa. He was with the United States Army during the Second World War and for one year was assigned to the Army Air Base Hospital in Santa Anna in the Ear, Nose and Throat Department.

Dr. Pfromm is a member of the Lehigh County Medical Society, the American Medical Association, the Pennsylvania Allergy Association and the Pennsylvania Academy of Ophthalmology.

He is certified by the American Board in Otolaryngology.

In addition to Dr. Jaeger and Dr. Pfromm, other officers of the Medical Staff confirmed by the Board of Trustees were:

Vice-President		Dr.	forre	sar moyar
Secretary-Treasurer	-000	Dr.	Vera	Krisukas

- 2 -

Division Chiefs:

0	Dr.	C. H. Trexler	630	Surgery
	Dr.	Forrest Moyer	615	Pediatrics
	Dr.	Frances C. Schaeffer	кар	Obstetrics & Gynecology
	Dr.	Harold Everett	60	Medicine
	Dr.	Leland Hunter	-	Radiology
	Dr.	Athanasius Klees	ett	Pathology

As members of the Medical Board:

Dr. Allan E. Trevaskis

Dr. George P. Rutt

Reports on the year's work were given by Dr. Frances C. Schaeffer, President of the Medical Staff; Orlando M. Bowen, Administrator; and Laura Baughn, Director of Nursing. Mrs. Margaret Bender reported for the Ladies Auxiliary of Allentown; Mrs. Mary Jane Eitner for the Junior Aides; Miss Marion Hopkins for the Alumni Association of the Allentown Hospital School of Nursing; and Mrs. Marie Fleming for the Gray Lady Service.

The future plans of the Board were reviewed. These include an expansion program which involves a new Nurses' Residence on the southwest corner of 17th & Chew Streets, the remodeling of the present Nurses' Residence for convalescent and ambulatory patients and the construction of a new East Wing along West Street.